Comans Mine

Comans Mine
Comans Road, Nerrigundah

Located just outside the small town of Nerrigundah, Coman’s Mine is an interesting part of the region’s goldmining history.

In the 1880s, E J (Ned) Coman mortgaged his property to finance a gold mining investment at the head of North Creek. The investment became known as Coman’s Mine. With his partner, Bloomfield, the mine was worked for a relatively brief and unsuccessful period and by 1889 was left idle, until it was officially reopened in 1938 by Radiant Mines Limited. Operations ceased at Coman’s Mine in 1950.

A walking trail takes you through this historic site. Along the track are many artefacts, including a pile of quartz rocks that marks the entrance to the mine tunnel that was originally dug by Coman and Bloomfield.

For another opportunity to experience this part of the area’s history, take a trip to the Original Goldrush Colony in Mogo.

Due to current health advice on social distancing, please contact the business for the most up to date information regarding opening times and services.

Facilities
Carpark,

Comans Mine







Top of page